Map of the Salish Sea

Map of the Salish Sea & Surrounding Basin, Stefan Freelan, WWU, 2009

About the Series

The waters of Puget Sound, Georgia Strait and the Strait of Juan de Fuca define the natural boundaries of the maritime Pacific Northwest. Known collectively as the Salish Sea, it also defines the people who’ve lived in this place from centuries past to the present.

I’ve lived with the Salish Sea for nearly 24 years now. I’ve fished in it, kayaked on it, sailed on it, raised my kids on it. I’ve had close encounters with eagles and otters and herons and killer whales. I’ve paddled myself into a few dangerous situations and lived to tell the tale; and I’ve attended the funeral of a friend who didn’t. This amazing body of water – with all its many moods and seasons – has gotten deeply into my blood.

In this series, I travel all across the Salish Sea, from Olympia to Neah Bay to Campbell River and a lot of places in between, talking with people who have deep connections here: scientists, fishermen, artists, tribal members, waterfront property owners, aquaculturists and a lot more. They tell me their stories, they take me to their special spots, they share what this place has taught them. And we talk about the ways in which we help — and harm — these waters.

I’d love to hear from you about what you think about the series, and any suggestions about people I should meet and places I should go. Just drop me a line at lmoriarty@kplu.org.

4 Comments to “”

  1. Hi Liam … Looking forward to following your journey, and listening to your new radio program! We hope you’ll stop into Bowser (right on the Salish Sea) as part of your travels around the coast. We have some wonderful things that we can share with you … local fish hatcheries, salmon enhancement initiatives, replanting bull kelp and sea grass projects, and more. We’d love to meet you and chat about The Salish Sea. Just let us know when and we’ll even arrange accommodation for you.

    Best of luck on your journey…we wish you calm seas, friendly smiles and incredible adventure.

    Cheers,
    Linda Tenney, co-Publisher, The Beacon Magazine

  2. What a terrific idea for a series! I heard the first interview with Bert Webber this morning, then looked online to find the beautiful map of the Salish Sea. I hadn’t heard the term before, but it is really perfect. I look forward to hearing all the Salish Sea stories.

  3. I look forward to my Wednesday morning commutte, knowing that I will get to hear your interviews and articles on our beloved Salish Sea.
    Keep up the good work Liam.

  4. Thank you, Liam, for a wonderful interview with Rachel Benbrook about kayaking and searching out spartina! You both did a fantastic job telling the story of this invasive plant that threatens habitat. Thanks for telling the story of the Salish Sea. We must all take care of this estuary for generations to come and your interviews make that connection.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

